A Beautiful Mess


Since I’m preparing for a big art show/sale I’ve been cranking out tons of artwork and packaging/pricing lots of art pulled from the archives (closets) and so- my home is A MESS.

Amidst all this I had two men come to check on our water sprinklers and fire alarms for our condo associations safety check. They asked about my artwork since I’m sure this was one of the stranger condo units they had seen and I apologized for the hurricane that had blown through our place.

One looked around and replied, “Yes, but what a beautiful mess.” and the other said, “Yeah, it seems like there’s an order to the madness.”

They were only here for three minutes but made my day.

My boyfriend Nathan has often looked at the messes I make with wonder and awe. He’s always said it is a mess, but everything has its place and there is a system of mess. He doesn’t always get the system but he knows there is one.  I’m the only one who can clean it because it would take me forever to find anything if he or anyone else ever ‘helped’.


This always makes me think of a card I received from my Tia Silvia (aunt) years ago that I still have somewhere… (Though I will not spend hours digging through memorabilia to put it on this post) It is a cartoon version of Van Gogh’s ‘Bedroon at Arles’ painting with clothes strewn about and basically an artist’s mess all over and it said “What Vincent’s room really looked like”.

Since I was little I’ve been messy, but organized. There has always been an ordered chaos (though my mother wouldn’t let this excuse my messes)… And now though no one is giving me a hard time about my mess (Nathan is a saint) I find it comforting to know that I’m not just lazy- I am simply a part of history with my brethren artists and the messes they created.

So, though I’ve been procrastinating putting our home back in order I’ll put it off and continue creating artwork for a few more days…

After all it is such a beautiful mess…

I'm going through a silhouette phase right now... all original & hand cut stencils though!

Don't know how Nathan puts up with me...

Why we haven't had a dinner party recently...

Where all the spray painting action goes down...


2 Comments on “A Beautiful Mess”

  1. Adriana says:

    Love this! I hope to see the card Tia Silvia sent you when you find it one day. I think I remember this card! Have fun and enjoy life each day creating art! Nate- Bless you! 🙂

  2. Cameoland says:

    I had it framed in my room for years I know you’ve seen it! I just packed it away this year so it’s in the depths of buckets that are packed in the storage space.


Leave a comment